The Rococo Variations with Raphael Wallfisch

2:30PM, Wednesday, October 16, 2013
Town Hall, Birmingham
Town Hall, Victoria Square
Birmingham, B3 3DQ

Orchestra of the Swan, Raphael Wallfisch

We are delighted to welcome Raphael Wallfisch as our Associate Artist for 2013-14, and his opening programme includes Tchaikovsky’s elegant Rococo Variations, composed at the request of Wilhelm Fitzhagen, a cellist who premiered Tchaikovsky’s string quartets. Tchaikovsky composed a work that paid homage to his favourite composer, Mozart, so it is only fitting that we include one of his greatest symphonies in this programme, the turbulent Symphony no40 in G minor.

Haydn: Symphony no85, La Reine in B♭major
Tchaikovsky: Rococo Variations
Mozart: Symphony no40 in G minor

Raphael Wallfisch: cello
David Curtis: conductor

Box Office: 0121 345 0603

Tickets: £21.50 (conc £19.50), £17.50 (conc £16.50), £13.50 (conc £12.50), £9.50 (conc £8.50) and Choir benches £6.50

A £2.50 fee per transaction will be charged on all bookings except purchases made in person at Town Hall or Symphony Hall Box Office. Concessions for patrons aged 60 and above.

Subscriber Rewards
Save 30% with a subscription for all 6 concerts in our THSH series
Save 20% with a subscription for 3 or more concerts in our THSH series

Enjoy the complete concert experience… What’s the Score?
Pre-concert talks with Artistic Director and Birmingham Post Chief Music Critic: 1.30pm
Informal introductions from the podium
Post-concert conversation Meet conductor, soloists and members of the orchestra in the Lower Bar 15 minutes after the performance.


Stratford Box Office
Book tickets via the ArtsHouse Box Office on 01789 207100 or online at

Birmingham Box Office
Book tickets via the THSH Box Office on 0121 345 0600 or online at