Bach to the Future

7:30PM, Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Stratford ArtsHouse, Stratford-upon-Avon
Rother Street
Stratford upon Avon, Warwickshire CV37 6LU

Victoria Brawn new

Victoria Brawn

Bach arr.Steve Martland Toccata & Fugue in D minor
Bach Brandenburg Concerto no2
Douglas Cuomo Objects in Mirror (world premiere)
Bach Brandenburg Concerto no3
Stravinsky Dumbarton oaks

Diane Clark flute
Victoria Brawn oboe
Hugh Davies trumpet
David Le Page violin
David Curtis conductor

A world premiere by American composer Douglas Cuomo, best known for the title theme to ‘Sex and the City’, to mark our 21st Anniversary season, composed as a companion piece to Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto no2.



“I’ve written a piece for Orchestra of the Swan before, Black Diamond Express Train to Hell , which was a double concerto for cello and sampler.  This one uses the identical instrumentation to the Bach (soloists are flute, oboe, trumpet and violin, plus a turn for the harpsichord), and takes its main themes, formal construction (even down to the number of bars in each movement) and it’s overall attitude from there as well.  By trying to channel Bach in this way I’m learning a huge amount as I write this piece.” Douglas Cuomo


Tickets: from £9.50 to 27.50

Enjoy the complete concert experience … Pre-concert talks with David Curtis. Free to ticket holders at 6.45 in the Auditorium

Save 20% when you book to see 3 or more concerts, or 30% for 6 or more


Stratford Box Office
Book tickets via the ArtsHouse Box Office on 01789 207100 or online at

Birmingham Box Office
Book tickets via the THSH Box Office on 0121 345 0600 or online at